about gippsland

The Gippsland region is located in the south-east of Victoria. It extends from the edge of Melbourne’s Metropolitan Region in the region’s west, eastwards to the New South Wales border, with the northern boundary formed by the edge of alpine country, with the coastline and Wilsons Promontory comprising its southern border. Gippsland includes the Bass Coast, Baw Baw, East Gippsland, South Gippsland, Wellington Shire Councils and LaTrobe City Council.


The region encompasses a broad range of agribusiness including agriculture, forestry, fishing and processing. The export economy of Gippsland is predominantly based on primary and secondary production, although many tertiary sectors have been growing, notable Retail Trade and Tourism-related industries. The progressive nature of the region is reflected in its strong social infrastructure and thriving Community groups.


Gippsland’s natural heritage places comprise of snow-fields, wilderness areas, rainforests, extensive lakes and beaches. Some of the State’s best land and marine parks are in the region such as the Alpine, Wilson’s Promontory, Tarra Bulga and Croajingalong National Parks